home » anaesthesia, intensive care & pain medicine » significant publications / academic activity

Significant Publications / Academic Activity

Three former liver transplant fellows, Drs. Ahtsham Niazi, David Honan and Michael Moore, were appointed to consultant posts in 2005, as was a registrar attached to the Conway Institute, Dr. Brendan McGarvey. Dr. David Honan, who was also a Conway fellow (2002-3), was awarded an MSc by UCD for his thesis entitled ‘Hypercapnia attenuates depressant effects of interleukin-1 beta on ex vivo aortic relaxation by a mechanism not involving nuclear factor-kappaB’. Dr. John Laffey, a former HRB funded post-doctoral research fellow (2001-2), was appointed Professor of Anaesthesia at NUI (Galway). The department’s Consultant/Senior Lecturer in Anaesthesia position was filled by Dr. Dara Breslin.