Skip to main content

You are here:

GP Liaison Committee

The GP Liaison Committee facilitates a platform for discussion between representative hospital staff at St. Vincent’s University Hospital (SVUH), St. Michael’s Hospital (SMH) and GPs.

Key priorities for the Committee are:

  • To share and discuss important information and key healthcare changes
    • so patient pathways are optimised and result in the best possible outcome
  • To communicate monitor, review and increase operational capacity where possible
    • with a view to reducing patient waiting times
  • To exchange and share relevant information between us
    • to ensure our knowledge is up to date and accurate at all times
  • To share ICT strategy to support the implementation of service integration
    • so we can support capacity planning and business continuity
  • To develop links with external bodies/committees/groups
    • so we can continue to maintain a dialogue with relevant and key stakeholders

Patient care initiatives

The GP Liaison Committee has been involved in a number of different initiatives designed to improve the overall patient experience and pathways. These have included:

  • Trial of an electronic referral system from GP to hospital. The outcome is expected to result in significantly improved efficiencies between GP and hospital resulting in a more efficient and timely service to the patient.
  • Representation on The Care of the Frail Elderly Committee where we meet monthly with members of community care organisations to discuss ways of providing the most appropriate care for our elderly patients.

Members of the GP Liaison Committee are as follows:

  • Sinead Reynolds, Head of Bed Management (Chair), SVUH
  • Paula Carroll,Business Manager for the Surgical Directorate, SVUH
  • Dr. Truls Christiansen,GP
  • Dermot Cullinan,Director ICT, SVUH
  • Dr. Miriam Daly,GP
  • Cecily Dawson,Head of Clinical Support, SVUH
  • Karen Donohoe, Business Manager for the Medical Directorate, SVUH
  • Sinead Fahy,GP Liaison Nurse, SVUH
  • Lloyd Felton,Head of ICT Projects, SVUH
  • Linda O’Leary,General Manager, SCH
  • Niamh Gaffney,Waiting List Office, SVUH
  • Loraine Kennedy,Head of Service Primary Care, Community Healthcare East
  • Dr. Jane MacDonagh,GP
  • Catherine McLoughlin,Physiotherapy Manager, SVUH
  • Dr. Brian Meade,GP
  • Louise Morgan, Principal Medical Social Worker, SVUH
  • Donal Murphy,Laboratory Manager, SVUH
  • Seamus Murtagh,Hospital Manager, SMH
  • Dr. Niall O’Cleirigh,GP
  • Prof. John Ryan,Consultant in Emergency Medicine, SVUH
  • Breege Screene,CNM3 Ambulatory Day Care Clinics, SVUH
  • Louise Smyth,Ambulatory Day Care Clinics Manager, SVUH
  • Marian Ward,ICT Project Manager, SVUH