Skip to main content

You are here:

Nursing Practice Development

The Nursing Practice Development team facilitates and guides both pre-registered nursing students and post-registration nurses, in their endeavour to learn and improve their practice. The department focuses on developing and supporting staff with evidence-based practice standards to continuously improve patient centred care.

Undergraduate nursing programmes

As a large level 4 academic teaching hospital, we provide excellent clinical placements for undergraduate nursing students. These include General Nursing, the combined Children’s & General Nursing and Mental Health Nursing programmes. Student nurses gain a variety of clinical experiences in acute adult nursing, as part of an integrated programme within St. Vincent’s Healthcare Group, in collaboration with University College Dublin. An experienced team of clinical placement coordinators support the students on site and help clinical staff to provide a positive learning environment and culture of continuous education.

Practice support

New nursing staff, graduates and healthcare assistants starting in the hospital are provided with a dedicated orientation, followed by a variety of supportive induction programmes. Innovative practice support programmes are also provided for nursing candidates undertaking Overseas Adaptation, and general nurses Upskilling to Practice in the Acute Hospital Setting.

The department is available for frontline staff with clinical queries, and we endeavour to address their learning needs and guide them in the right direction. We have a wealth of up-to-date clinical policies, guidelines and procedures, which are evidence-based and available on all computers hospital-wide. There is full access to a comprehensive healthcare library on site.

There are opportunities for clinical staff to take on fixed term project work and develop an entirely new range of skills.  Current projects include the Careful Nursing Philosophy & Professional Practice Model, Standardised Nursing Languages, Care-planning and Shift Handovers.

Continuous professional development opportunities

The Nursing Practice Development team provides excellent short skills-based courses and ward based learning sessions and support.

For more information on all the programmes provided visit the Prospectus NEPD July 2018

2018 NEPD course application for external

Other useful contact details

Name Role Email Phone
Mary Ryder Director of Nursing Education and Practice Development m.ryder@svuh.ie (01) 221 4873
Carolyn Donohoe Assistant Director of Nursing for Practice Development and Nursing Practice Development Coordinator c.donohoe@svuh.ie (01) 221 4795
Lisa Murphy CNM2 lisa.murphy@svuh.ie (01) 221 4023
Lorraine Lalor CNM3 llalor@svhg.ie (01) 221 4023
Leanne Madigan CNM2 Leanne.madigan@svuh.ie (01)221 4967
Mary Dunne CNM2 m.dunne@svuh.ie (01)2215292
Julie Anne Hervas CNM2 Ja.hervas@svuh.ie (01)2214472
Geraldine Ryan CNM2, Overseas Co-Ordinator geraldineryan@svhg.ie (01)2214411
Michelle Butler Staff Nurse michelle.butler@svuh.ie (01)2214484
Sue Markey Quality Co-Ordinator for Nursing smarkey@svhg.ie (01)221 4394
Patricia Hogan CPC phogan@svhg.ie (01)221 4027
Colette Farrell CPC cfarrell@svhg.ie (01)221 4024
Mercy Appathurai CPC m.appathurai@svuh.ie (01)221 4874
Brenda Lowry CPC blowry@svhg.ie (01)221 4874
Deirdre Quinn CPC deirdrequinn@svhg.ie (01)221 4978
Ciara Hanrahan CPC c.hanrahan@svuh.ie (01)221 4234
Maria Slattery CPC m.slattery@svuh.ie (01)221 3377
Laura Mitchel CPC l.mitchel@svuh.ie (01)2214577
Karen Denver Student Allocations Liaison Officer kdenver@svhg.ie (01)2214025
Suzanne Earls Resuscitation Training Officer s.earls@svhg.ie (01)2214456
Caroline Doyle Administer ca.doyle@svhg.ie (01)2214716
Deirdre O’Riordan Mandatory training Administer deirdreoriordan@svhg.ie (01)221 4039
Bernadette Howard Project Manager bhoward@svhg.ie (01)2215265

Useful links

Contact

Department Administrator – Caroline Doyle
email:  ca.doyle@svuh.ie
tel:       (01) 221 4716

Location

Opposite Clinical Services Building

St. Vincent’s University Hospital

Elm Park

Dublin 4

Opening Hours

Mon/Fri:            08.00 – 16.00
Tue/Wed/Thu: 08.00 – 16.30