Skip to main content

You are here:

Nursing Practice Development

The Nursing Practice Development team facilitates and guides both pre-registered nursing students and post-registration nurses, in their endeavour to learn and improve their practice. The department focuses on developing and supporting staff with evidence-based practice standards to continuously improve patient centred care.

Undergraduate nursing programmes

As a large level 4 academic teaching hospital, we provide excellent clinical placements for undergraduate nursing students. These include General Nursing, the combined Children’s & General Nursing and Mental Health Nursing programmes. Student nurses gain a variety of clinical experiences in acute adult nursing, as part of an integrated programme within St. Vincent’s Healthcare Group, in collaboration with University College Dublin. An experienced team of clinical placement coordinators support the students on site and help clinical staff to provide a positive learning environment and culture of continuous education.

Practice support

New nursing staff, graduates and healthcare assistants starting in the hospital are provided with a dedicated orientation, followed by a variety of supportive induction programmes. Innovative practice support programmes are also provided for nursing candidates undertaking Overseas Adaptation, and general nurses Upskilling to Practice in the Acute Hospital Setting.

The department is available for frontline staff with clinical queries, and we endeavour to address their learning needs and guide them in the right direction. We have a wealth of up-to-date clinical policies, guidelines and procedures, which are evidence-based and available on all computers hospital-wide. There is full access to a comprehensive healthcare library on site.

There are opportunities for clinical staff to take on fixed term project work and develop an entirely new range of skills.  Current projects include the Careful Nursing Philosophy & Professional Practice Model, Standardised Nursing Languages, Care-planning and Shift Handovers.

Continuous professional development opportunities

The Nursing Practice Development team provides excellent short skills-based courses and ward based learning sessions and support.  These include some of the following:

  • Evidence Based Practice & Research Champions Module (10 credits at level 8 ECTS with UCD)
  • Careful Nursing Philosophy & Professional Practice Model – (theory and practice)
  • Preceptorship – Assessing Student Competence
  • New Graduate Mentorship Programme
  • Early Warning Score & Sepsis Six Training
  • Irish Maternity EWS (iMEWS) Training
  • Tracheostomy Care
  • Male Urethral Catheterisation
  • Patient Assessment
  • Wound Care Workshops
  • MUST and Nutritional Care Training
  • Auditing National Quality Care Metrics

Resuscitation Department:

  • Basic Life Support (classroom and online blended)
  • Advanced Cardiac Life Support (classroom and online blended)
  • Cardiac Arrest Management

Other useful contact details

Name Role Email Phone
Mary Ryder Director of Nursing Education and Practice Development m.ryder@svuh.ie (01) 221 4873
Carolyn Donohoe Assistant Director of Nursing for Practice Development and Nursing Practice Development Coordinator c.donohoe@svuh.ie (01) 221 4795
Lisa Murphy CNM2 lisa.murphy@svuh.ie (01) 221 4023
Leanne Madigan CNM2 leanne.madigan@svuh.ie (01) 221 3376
Mary Dunne CNM2 m.dunne@svuh.ie (01) 221 4411
Simone Gray CNM2 s.gray@svuh.ie (01) 221 2965
Nathalie White CNM2 n.white@svuh.ie (01) 221 2964
Michelle Butler Staff Nurse michelle.butler@svuh.ie (01) 221 4394
Sue Markey Quality Coordinator for Nursing s.markey@svuh.ie, (01) 221 4394
Collette Farrell CPC c.farrell@svuh.ie (01) 221 4024
Brenda Lowry CPC b.lowry@svuh.ie (01) 221 4874
Patricia Hogan CPC p.hogan@svuh.ie, (01) 221 4027
Deirdre Quinn CPC D.Quinn@svuh.ie (01) 221 4978
Maria Slattery CPC m.slattery@svuh.ie, (01) 2214874
Ciara Hanrahan CPC c.hanrahan@svuh.ie (01) 221 3377
Karen Denver Student Allocations Liaison Officer k.denver@svuh.ie (01) 221 4967
Glenna Woods Resuscitation Training Officer g.woods@svuh.ie (01) 221 4472
Brigid Battersby Resuscitation Training Officer b.battersby@svuh.ie (01) 221 4456
Deirdre O’Riordan Mandatory Training Administrator d.o’riordan@svuh.ie, (01) 221 4039

Useful links

Contact

Department Administrator – Karen Foley 
email:  ca.doyle@svuh.ie
tel:       (01) 221 4716

Location

Opposite Clinical Services Building

St. Vincent’s University Hospital

Elm Park

Dublin 4

Opening Hours

Mon/Fri:            08.00 – 16.00
Tue/Wed/Thu: 08.00 – 16.30